Reflective Portfolio Blog Post 4

In this article I am going to identify a possible area of development and take action😁!

I’d like to develop a wider understanding of what actually happens on a movie set and how films and tv series are actually produced. I want to learn more about the technical aspects of filmmaking. This website contains a lot of information about framing, lighting, color grading and much more. I also want to use Premiere (and other softwares) more often, since I have it on my computer but I haven’t used it much. As I said in my previous post I’m more oriented towards theory, or at least I am more comfortable with it. I think this is due to the fact that the educational system in Italy revolves around theoretical knowledge. So, I know what to expect from theoretical tasks and how to handle them. I’ve also been watching quite a few videos about cameras, lenses and lighting.

This channel focuses on DSLRs.

This channel has great content, both theoretical and practical.

This channel has really good material (even though since it’s called No Film School, the fact that I’m watching it is kind of funny).

Even though this channel only posts trailers of the actual masterclasses, since you have to pay to get the full experience, the material is still quite interesting.

There are also great Instagram pages that post about films, those can be useful to learn about image composition, color grading and take inspiration from to create moodboards. An example is @comp_cam, which provides examples of the rule of thirds, one point perspective, symmetry etc.

composition

 

So this is pretty much what I’m working on at the moment. I’m sure my skills are going to improve if I keep researching. Thanks for reading this article!

 

Leave a comment